Director’s Welcome Message

Thank you for your interest in Awsaj Academy. As you read this information about Awsaj, you will notice that as well as being a school, we are much more.

As A SCHOOL….
Awsaj Academy primarily aims to serve students with learning challenges in grades K-12. Our admission priority is Qatari students who are two to four years behind their peers and who need a specialist program to catch up. The expectation for the majority of students upon graduation, is that they will receive a high-school diploma and attend college and/or a career. Students are taught in small classrooms of no more than ten students per class. Highly qualified, specially trained teachers are skilled at meeting the individual needs of all students.

We are proud members of Qatar Foundation, and are located in a new purpose-built facility within Education City. This new building was opened in 2011 and expanded to accommodate 500 students. Awsaj Academy has a rich history of quality service that spans over 20 years. Our non-profit school has dual accreditation. From the Middle States Association (MSA) and the Council of International Schools (CIS), both recognized by the Ministry of Education.

A SCHOOL AND MUCH MORE….
Within the school, we offer individual support beyond the classroom from highly skilled staff at the Awsaj Teaching and Learning Center, including psycho-education evaluations, specialized academic support, occupational therapy, speech/language, counseling, and behavioral supports.

At Awsaj we put children first. Our mission is to unlock the learning potential of each student, and to ensure that our students go into the future with the skills, the work ethic, and the development they need to be successful in life. We work hard to ensure that the graduates of Awsaj Academy will have evidence of:

• Proficiency in reading, writing, listening and speaking in both English and Arabic.
• Knowledge and skills necessary to successfully begin post-secondary education or a career in Qatar or abroad.
• Pride in their own culture, while respecting the culture of others.
• An understanding of and respect for Islamic Values.
• A commitment to lifelong learning as responsible citizens.

Our reputation is clearly established; our practices are sound and true. It is our responsibility to share our knowledge and expertise with others so that every student that struggles in Qatar can benefit from the Awsaj Way; regardless of the school they attend. The graduates of 2018 benefited from our progress as a school. Some were part of our blended learning program called PRIME; others received specialized services from the Awsaj Teaching and Learning Center that now serves all the Qatar Foundation schools. Our family opens the doors of our school to any educator or parent that would like to learn how we work with our students. We will invite you into our classrooms, share with you what we are doing, and provide support as schools around Qatar work toward inclusive practices.

I very much hope that I will soon have the opportunity to meet you, and it will be with great pride and humility that I look forward to discussing the work of our amazing staff teams and wonderful students.

Mark Hughes

كلمة الترحيب من مدير الأكاديمية

أتوجه بدايةً بخالص الشكر لكم على اهتمامكم بالانضمام إلى أسرة أكاديمية العوسج؛ وأؤكد لكم أنكم ستشعرون مع قراءة هذه الكلمات أن أكاديمية العوسج ليست مجرد مدرسة فحسب، بل هي أشمل من ذلك بكثير.

مدرستنا
تهدف أكاديمية العوسج في المقام الأول إلى تقديم خدماتها للطلاب ممن يواجهون تحديات في التعلم للصفوف من الروضة وحتى الصف الثاني عشر. وتُمنح أولوية القبول بالمدرسة للطلاب القطريين المتعثرين دراسيًا عن أقرانهم بواقع سنتين إلى أربع سنوات، والذين يحتاجون إلى برنامج تعليمي متخصص يمكّنهم من اللحاق بركب زملائهم في المراحل التعليمية. وتنعقد آمال أكاديمية العوسج في تأهيل غالبية الطلاب وحصولهم عقب التخرج على دبلوم إتمام المرحلة الثانوية والالتحاق بالكليات الجامعية أو الانخراط في المسار المهني بسوق العمل. ويتعلم هؤلاء الطلاب في صفوف دراسية قليلة العدد لا تتجاوز أكثر من عشرة طلاب في كل صف. كما يمتاز مدرسو أكاديمية العوسج بالتأهيل رفيع المستوى علاوةً على تلقيهم تدريبات عالية التخصص بما يمنحهم المهارات اللازمة لتلبية الاحتياجات الخاصة لجميع الطلاب.
يغمرنا شعورٌ بالفخر لكون الأكاديمية عضوًا في مؤسسة قطر، فضلاً عن انتقالها إلى مبنى رائع أنشئ خصيصًا لها داخل حرم المدينة التعليمية. وقد افتُتح هذا المبنى عام 2011 وجرى توسعته لاستيعاب 500 طالب. وتحظى أكاديمية العوسج غير الربحية بتاريخ مشّرف من تقديم أفضل الخدمات التعليمية التي تمتد زهاء 20 عامًا، كما أن الأكاديمية معتمدة من رابطة الولايات الوسطى لاعتماد المدارس والكليات وكذلك مجلس المدارس الدولية، وكلاهما معتمد من وزارة التعليم والتعليم العالي بدولة قطر.

أكثر من مجرد مدرسة
تقدم أكاديمية العوسج الدعم لكل طالب على حدة داخل الصف الدراسي وخارجه على يد مجموعة من الموظفين ذوي المهارات العالية في مركز العوسج للتعليم والتعلم، ويشمل ذلك التقييمات النفسية التربوية والدعم الدراسي المتخصص والعلاج المهني وعلاج عيوب التخاطب/اللغة وتقديم الاستشارات والدعم السلوكي للطلاب.
إننا في أكاديمية العوسج نضع أطفالنا على رأس أولوياتنا؛ فرسالتنا تتمثل في إطلاق قدرات التعلم لكل طالب، علاوةً على ضمان تسليح طلابنا بالمهارات وأخلاقيات العمل التي تعينهم في المستقبل، بالإضافة إلى تنمية المهارات التي يحتاجون إليها في حياتهم. لذلك، فإننا نسعى سعيًا حثيثًا إلى تزويد خريجي أكاديمية العوسج بالمهارات والقدرات التالية:
• إجادة اللغتّين العربية والإنجليزية إجادةً تامة؛ قراءةً وكتابةً واستماعًا وتحدثًا.
• امتلاك المعرفة والمهارات اللازمة لإحراز النجاح في الالتحاق بالتعليم بعد الثانوي أو الانخراط في المسار المهني داخل دولة قطر وخارجها.
• الشعور بالفخر إزاء ثقافتهم، مع إبداء الاحترام لثقافات الآخرين.
• فهم القيم الإسلامية وتقديرها
• الالتزام بالتعلم مدى الحياة بوصفهم مواطنين مسؤولين.
أود الإشارة إلى أن أكاديمية العوسج تحظى بسمعة مرموقة نابعة من ممارساتها التعليمية السليمة والدقيقة. كما نرى أنه من مسؤوليتنا تبادل المعرفة والخبرات المكتسبة مع الآخرين لكي يستطيع جميع الطلبة الذين يجابهون الظروف والتحديات القاسية في دولة قطر تحقيق الاستفادة من "أسلوب العوسج" الخاص؛ بصرف النظر عن المدرسة المنتسبين إليها. وفي هذا السياق، استفاد خريجو العام 2018 من التقدم الذي أحرزناه كمدرسة لها تميزها؛ فبعضهم قد التحق ببرنامج التعلم المدمج المعروف باسم "برايم"، فيما حصل آخرون على الخدمات التعليمية المتخصصة من مركز العوسج للتعليم والتعلم الذي يقدم خدماته الآن إلى جميع المدارس التابعة لمؤسسة قطر. إن أسرة العوسج تفتح أبوابها لجميع المعلمين التربويين أو أولياء الأمور ممن يرغبون في معرفة أسلوبنا التعليمي الذي نتبعه مع طلابنا، وندعوكم مستقبلاً لتشريفنا بزيارتكم لصفوفنا الدراسية كي نتشارك معكم ما نقوم به في إطار دعم عمل مدارس قطر على تحقيق الممارسات الاستيعابية الشاملة.
وختامًا، يحدوني أمل وطيد في أن تتاح لي الفرصة للالتقاء بكم في القريب العاجل، وسيكون من دواعي فخري وتواضعي أن أتطلع قدُمًا إلى مناقشة العمل الذي يقوم به فريق عملنا المذهل مع طلابنا الرائعين.

مارك هيوز